author website

awards & nominations



2016  Honorary Degree in English:

          Mount Royal University

2016  RBC Charles Taylor Prize longlist:

          Road Trip Rwanda

2014  IMPAC Dublin Award longlist:



2014  Ian Fleming Steel Dagger Award longlist:


2012  Scotiabank Giller Prize


2010  Leacock Medal for Humour:

          Beyond Belfast  

2010  AWG Award for Creative Nonfiction:

          Beyond Belfast 


2009  IMPAC Dublin Award longlist:

          Spanish Fly


2008  Leacock Medal for Humour shortlist:

          Spanish Fly 


2005  Pierre Berton Award 

          Canada's National History Society


2005  Leacock Medal for Humour:

          Beauty Tips from Moose Jaw


2004  Northern Lights Award for Travel

          Writing: "Polar Bear Haven: An Arctic  



2002  Leacock Medal for Humour:



2002  CAA Award for Fiction:



2002  Commonwealth Prize: Canada &

          Caribbean shortlist:



2002  Libris Booksellers Award for

          Non-Fiction Book of the Year:

          How to Be a Canadian


2002  Leacock Medal for Humour shortlist:

          How to Be a Canadian 


2001  CAA Award for History:

          Canadian History for Dummies